Some people argue that the most effective way to improve public health is for the government to increase taxes on unhealthy foods and drinks, such as those high in sugar and fat. Others believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to make their own dietary choices without government interference. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the idea of taxing unhealthy food?

Many argue that increasing taxes on unhealthy food by authorities encourages individuals to have a better diet. I strongly agree with this view, as maintaining a balanced diet is essential to our general well-being, and improves the immune system.

One major reason I agree with increasing taxes on unhealthy food is that when clean eating costs less than junk food, more individuals will feel the need to follow a balanced diet. This is beacuse, in most cases, should a behavior come with a reward, it increases the likelihood of repeating that. For instance, it is likely that people with limited amount of budget, choose to keep a nutritious diet rather than eating unhealthy, flavour-based food. Nevertheless, the importance of having a nutritious is not hidden to all. As a result, by implementing more taxes on processed food, more people will maintain a healthy diet.

Another important reason why I support tax rising in harmful food is that providing that their profit will decrease, fewer restaurants and local food providers tend to cook those types of dishes. Furthermore, there will be a rise in demand for high-protein, wholesome food. That is extra incentive for them to expand their healthy food menu. Therefore, due to an increase in variety of restaurants making delicious wholesome food, people’s desire for clean eating will also increase.

To conclude, by adding extra taxes on junk food, not only do we push people toward maintaining a balanced diet, but also inspire restaurants to make healthy dishes.