some people believe crimes can be controlled with action, while other think nothing can be done

It is widely believed that illegal activities could be curtailed by taking appropriate measures against them. While the supporters of this idea argue that implementation of strict laws, teaching moral values from childhood would prevent crime, certain people claim strongly that the measures are unhelpful because criminals are tech-savvy, poverty cannot be abolished. In this essay, I shall discuss both the perspectives and express my opinion on this theme.

From one perspective, it is believed that tightening law and order could play a major role in obstructing unlawful actions. Moreover, severe punishments such as life-time imprisonment or death sentence decrease crime rates dramatically. For example, in UAE, a rapist is always sentenced to death. As a result, crime against women is almost negligible. Proponents of this viewpoint claim that character development and societal values must be taught to children from an early age. Not only does this benefit the individual but it helps in creating a safe and secure society to live. Research shows that only 7% of the individuals who had classes on moral values tend to indulge in anti-social behaviour.

On the other hand, there is a contrasting argument that crimes cannot be abolished until poverty is eradicated. In addition to this, advocates of this idea cite that humans are obliged to take part in unlawful actions when they are deprived of their basic needs such as food, clothing, and shelter. While some might argue that strict regulations might be effective, others point that lawbreakers are becoming tech-savvy. They use several novel tactics to cheat citizens and escape without getting caught. For instance, offenders target elderly people and loot their money by disguising themselves as bank officials over phone.

While I acknowledge totally that malefactors are becoming smart, it is mandatory to adapt laws according to the modern era. Governments play a vital role in enacting suitable regulations. Recently, South Korea has revised their criminal procedure code by giving more power to police officials. Furthermore, upgrading security measures will reduce illegal activities in any country.

In conclusion, up weighing both the perspectives such as effective government policies, imparting good values from childhood, increased awareness of wrongdoers, vitalizing youth as hunger, it becomes evident that finding a long-term viable solution is required to address this issue. Safe society leads to harmony and peace.