Some people believe handwriting is no longer useful in modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this technological age, some argue that handwriting is obsolete and should be removed from school curricula. However, I believe that handwriting still offers numerous advantages for students, including improved learning performance and focus.

Some studies show that taking notes by hand provides many sensory experiences, which help students recall knowledge easier after their classes. Furthermore, using simple “tools,” such as hands and pens, can diversify note-taking into many forms. For example, instead of linear bullet points as in computers, students can draw diagrams, mind maps, or personal symbols to grasp the concept they are learning faster and more intuitively. Additionally, some studies also suggest that doing a little physical activity in class, in this case writing, can boost alertness. Thus, considering these advantages, students ought to engage more with traditional writing in their classes.

Although working with technological devices offers many conveniences, they also come with various distractions, such as social media notifications or upcoming movie ads. These distractions could consume a significant amount of time if one “curiously” clicks (or touches) on them. Moreover, people also can multitask easier when using these devices. For example, they can review the new concepts in their class while reviewing messages from friends. This behavior could considerably reduce their chance to understand the new concepts. Therefore, sometimes, sitting in a quiet place with only “analog tools” such as pens, books, and papers is the most efficient study method to promote concentration.

In conclusion, handwriting still offers benefits for students related to cognitive functions such as memory, alertness, and focus. Therefore, I disagree that it should be banned but instead integrated with technology within school programs to support students in learning more effectively.