Some people believe students should be required to do community service as part of their education. Others believe this should be voluntary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Community service is made compulsory for students in some schools. While some believe that this is necessary, others believe that it should be made voluntary. I believe that community service should be a mandatory component in a student’s school life.

Community service offers the opportunity for students to engage in activities that might not usually be available to them in their learning environment. It also exposes them to society and different people outside of their usual scope of interaction. Working with unfamiliar people, such as the local elderly care facility or the government employees overlooking a town exposes children to different social dynamics. It allows them to improve their teamwork and increase their ability in navigating varying social situations. Community service can also improve the emotional wellbeing of a child. It is a service and, therefore, the feeling of helping someone else can be gratifying. A regular practice of this helps to raise empathetic citizens who place an importance in helping those around them.

On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages of making community service mandatory. The main objective of community service is to encourage teamwork and build empathy. However, if this is forced, it may lead to resentment in a child, which is counterintuitive to the entire operation. Compliance can be forced, however, interest can not. In some instances, a child may have other obligations at home or elsewhere. They may need to take care of a sick family member, help out with their family, or have afterschool activities and other commitments. If compulsory community service is added, it takes away a child’s time to rest or engage in some other activity.

In conclusion, while I still believe that community service should be made mandatory, I believe that it is necessary to look into whether students are genuine or enthusiastic about it. Excessive force can be detrimental, and if there are students who have personal concerns, I believe that accomodations should be made available for them.