Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that social problems and poverty cause crime while others think that crime is related to one’s personality. In my opinion, bad situations that people face encourage them to turn to crime. I will discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, some people think that poorness encourages people to turn to crime in order to pay bills and meet family responsibilities. In order words, unemployment can lead people to crime due to financial pressure and also lack of structure in their daily lives. For example, unemployment rose dramatically, and crime was also on the rise in the first industrial revolution. In addition, crimes can also be be influenced by social problems such as discrimination. It is possible that people incorrectly recognize themselves based on their race, colour or nationality, leading them to believe that their value and power are higher and greater than others, resulting in assaults, injuries, and even murder.

Additionally, some people suppose the thing that push people to crime is their personality. In other words, people get involved in it because of their bad personality traits. It is known that some people turn to crime because of the image of the power and courage which they associated with it. For instance, a study by a newspaper found that some thieves steal because they want to revenge, attract attention and to test their courage.

In conclusion, I believe that one of most important cause of crime is poorness. Personality has very little contribution to it. People don’t take a risk to go to jail because of their quest for adventure. They need to have true reasons like trying to afford family needs.