some people believe that advertising encourages unnecessary consumption. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an era marked by technology, commercials are believed to lead people to purchase unwanted items. I strongly agree with this opinion due to two core reasons.

One major factor behind this development is that advertising programs are able to improve aesthetic appeal of products with artificial intelligence. The use of AI in commercial campaigns has become increasingly popular given that it reduces the need for creating advertisements manually, which demands both time and energy. AI, in turn, can create high-quality videos, images, and canvas within minutes that encourage customers to buy such goods. A case in point is YouTube commercials. People are often exposed to artificially created shorts and videos that demonstrate the use of products, such as phone cases, child-safe tablets, and toys. This not only encourages individuals to buy unnecessary items but also consumes a great deal of money that can be used for more important responsibilities.

A further contributing reason lies in social influence. When advertisements show popular people or influencers using a product, consumers may purchase it to keep up with the curve or improve their social status. For example, bloggers on Instagram often advertise brand-new drinks, clothes, or technology to bear the intended fruit for product makers. However, this excessive purchase to stay ahead the curve often backfires for customers since they may run out of resources, eventually leading to financial burden. This shows how social influence and artificial intelligence can manipulate customers’ purchasing decisions in the contemporary era.

In conclusion, I contend that the primary reasons for this trend are the effective use of AI and social influence towards customers since they tend to encourage people to purchase unnecessary things – a psychological manipulation that is highly used in advertising.