Some people believe that advertising has a strong effect on a person’s decision-making process. Others feel that it has little or no real impact. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, advertising plays a significant role in people’s lives today, influencing various aspects of their daily routines. While some people feel that advertising has a huge effect on people’s decision-making process due to use of psychological methods in ads, I agree with the opinion that there is no impact because of awareness.

From one point of view, some people believe that advertising has a strong effect on a person’s decision-making process, because a lot of companies use psychological tricks in order to make consumers buy their product. Marketing companies often add to their advertisements how people with idealized lives are laughing and having fun together. Companies such as “Booking” or “Airbnb”, for instance, include to their advertising travellers who are happily spending their time on the adventures. After that, the fear of missing out appears in individuals, because they want to experience the feeling of travelling. That is why people tend to be swayed by advertisements and buy these products impulsively.

On the other hand, others feel that there is no impact on the persons’ decision-making process, because individuals are informed that advertising usually exaggerates information. People can critically approach the decision of buying a product knowing that advertising often contains untruthfully content. Not only do they think critically, but they also do market research before buying goods impulsively. It is well known that many people are aware that the majority of cosmetics companies claim that their products such as moisturizers, oils, and balsam are able to improve customers’ skin. However, before purchasing those cosmetic products, people usually read reviews and ingredients. Thereby, people show their critical-thinking abilities and awareness about companies’ exaggeration.

In conclusion, advertisements still have a significant effect on customers’ minds due to psychological strategies, which companies use. Nevertheless, I support the view that there is a little effect from advertising, because people are able to make decisions with maturity