Some people believe that artificial intelligence should be strictly regulated by governments, while others argue that excessive regulation may hinder innovation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s technological and rapidly advancing world, the field of artificial intelligence has developed significantly, with AI influencing our daily lives in numerous ways. As such, critics argue that goverments should substancially regulate the usage and development of AI, citing issues such as over reliance and cyber risks. Others claim, however, that over monitoring could augment developmental decline and technological stagnation. I support the previous opinion, and this essay will examine both perspectives before presenting my own.

Supporters of AI proclaim that AI provide numerous benfits to humanity. AI has proved to be invaluable in data extraction and examination. With its ability to locate precise data from huge sets in a short time frame, it is crucial in many sectors of work, such as data science operations and monitoring research. Furthermore, AI can perform repetitive, data intensive, and often easy jobs, such as cashiers and strategic industrial monitoring. Although AI is now limited to sectors that require minimal deep thinking or has low risks, we could see AI augmenting more fields in the future, supporting economic growth.

However, any people argue that AI has numerous negative effects, and that it’s use must be regulated to ensure a developed and safe society. One major concern is related to AI’s huge power cost. AI data centers take up valuable land, which could be developed for societal use. Not only that, these centers require significant levels of electricty and water to operate, while both of these resources could be used to power or feed communities elsewhere. These people argue that the benefits provided by AI does not offset the downsides LLMs bring. Furthermore, although AI can augment jobs and increase economic growth, this can result in unemployment increasing.

In summary, although AI do provide several benefits, I argue that AI development and usage should be regulated and monitored by goverments and institutions. I belive that with careful planning and limitations, we can lessen the negative effects of AI while ensuring technological development and economic activity.