Some people believe that buying second-hand products is the best way to save money and protect the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays many people question whether purchasing second-hand products is the most practical way to collect money and protect the environment.

Although I agree that this action will be helpful for the environment, it will not be cost-effective for individuals. I will discuss about my opinion in the following paragraphs.

Purchasing second-hand items can preserve the environment. In more detail, the demand for buying new products will decrease significantly by this approach; therefore, factories’ activities, producing a lot of exhaust fumes, and raw materials, including plastic and chemical substances, will reduce considerably. Consequently, citizens can take a breath of fresh air because of reduced greenhouse gases, and marine creatures will be exposed to the lower amount of plastic waste and chemical materials of factories which are dumped into the seas. For example, In Swiss, many customers prefer to buy secondhand items instead of new ones because of their affordability, and their preferences have created a wonderful environment with the least pollution for citizens.

However, I believe that this measure will not lead to save money. In fact, individuals save money to buy what they want, and after their purchase they have drained their bank accounts, and their saving amount has decreased Moreover, buying second-hand items has some additional costs, which new ones do not have these expenses. For instance, by purchasing used cars, owners have to pay a lot of money to exchange tires or oil filters, as they have been used. Likewise, when someone buy an old house, he has to pay a lot of money to refurbish the house, which will not allow him to save money.

In conclusion, although this action helps people to have a better environment, it does not let customers to save money and leads to additional costs for them.