Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain ancient structures are testament to rich history and cultural heritage of specific communities around the world.Some people opine that these structures should be safegaurded more than others. I believe that historical landmarks of cultural significance should be preserved and this essay will explain how benefits of doing so surpass the associated drawback.

First and foremost,some historical buildings have become the cultural identity of a certain population and these buildings should be preserved. This is because such sites evoke a sense of belonging and pride among people of that community within a given population.Many hindu temples are, for instance,The UNESCO world heritage sites and strict guidelines are followed to maintain and conserve them. This helps in creating a positive social environment, keeping age old traditions and customs alive. Moreover, it aids in educating the younger generation about their strong ties to the past, and therefore, imbibe respect among them for their ancestors’ who sacrificed their lifes to protect and sustain their community.Therefore, the idea of heritage preservation holds great significance.

However, restoration of these ancient sites require highly skilled masons, artisans,wood-carvers, and involve exorbitantly priced material and labor, which makes the restoration process prohibitively expensive. Thus, this process can create excessive burden on the national budget.However, these opulent sites attract numerous tourists and architectural enthusiasts worldwide, generating thousands of dollars for the local economy. Mecca, for instance, a city of vast history has great religious significance for Muslims and it witnesses millions of pilgrims every year which immensely benefits the tourism and hospitality industry. The resources earned, in return, are sufficient enough to shoulder the overwhelming cost of maintaining these ancient archaeological wonders.

In conclusion, while the cost associated with preserving and maintaining certain ancient buildings can be exorbitant, however, this drawback alone does not shadow its significant economic implications and cultural relevance