Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more academic work. How do you think children should spend their free time?

In an instance where a child is given too much free time, they are expected to study the whole duration. However, children tend to easily lose focus and attention if asked to do one task only, which is to study. In my opinion, this free time should be used efficiently, not only to one demand but to help discover and develop other skills and talents that could support the foundation of growth a child can acquire.

One prominent reason is that if we focus on the overall being and condition that a child bare, happiness and fun is innate to them, and they would look for objects that can bring them entertainment. Forcing them to be obedient and productive triggers their nature of being young, and somehow holds back their queries and eagerness to learn about life. For an instance, as a young rational being, they are still captivated by how butterflies are made colorful, elegant, and are able to fly. Their minds are packed with questions that we may think are nonsense but are truly logical. The “why?” of a child is meant to be strengthened.

Despite this, long free time should be spent more on what keeps children be motivated. Such as holistic teachings are encouraged to be applied when considering enhancing the motor and cognitive skills of a child. Nurturing and applauding for their great thinking and questioning is something that could drive a child to learn and know more.

As a result, leisure time should aim to help and guide children in their journey of understanding the nature of life and their surroundings. And therefore, upholding holistic value shapens the process of learning.