Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

It is accepted that students should be labeled and taught according to their knowledge by some people. As far as I am concerned, categorizing students may cause some self-fulfilling prophecy such as experiencing low self-confidence in such students while it tailors education for each student.

On the one hand streaming privilege students with higher abilities improving themselves faster than the others. Usually, such students are subjected to tackling challenging problems, which in order to help them to reach their full potential. But, without streaming such students would be exposed to follow their classmates which have lower experience, making them feel bored and unwilling towards the lessons. Moreover, being taught in a class with the same level of classmates, helping students to study at a satisfactory pace.

On the other hand, low-level students can feel themselves as victims of stigmatization. Being humiliated by highly rated students can discourage them, badly affecting their thoughts towards their study. To mitigate such type of situations, schools have to ensure that teachers approach every child equally and teach in a same standardized way. Through that way, students will be able to reach the same level of knowledge when they accomplish their education.

In conclusion, streaming offers the benefit of tailoring education to students’ abilities and allowing successful students to reach their potential whilst it carries risks of stigmatization. To ensure that all students benefit equally from their education, it is essential for schools to foster both challenge and support.