Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

teaching secondary school students based on streamed method in groups in regards to their abilities or in mixed classes is being a considerable debated. While wide variety of families and tutors believe that this method is to benefit of children to enhance their abilities rather than in mixed classes. In my point of view, despite few advanced points of the streamed method, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages in case of variety and development.

Streamed teaching has multiple challenges; first of all, it hinders children from enjoyment and progress while they join class. It causes the class seems monotonous and lack of variety because all the students are in similar labels and may an ongoing tough competition be among them that prohibits classmates from having social behaviour and joyful moments together. At this condition they realize their classmates as a rival in which causes to avoid being friend. Furthermore, an ongoing competition between them can lead to stress and take up their leisure time because they excluded their free time and monopolized it on studying, although as children, they need to rest and recreation.

However, drawbacks of streamed teaching are significant, but it is not without any positive points, an apparent benefit, is its easy assessment and teaching due to pupils is being categorised in groups according to their abilities. They are in parallel level where can benefit from a balanced lesson. For example, a pupil does not feel left behind because all children are alike and the teaching is balanced to the students ‘label. Additionally, this way helps all students to participate in lessons.

In conclusion, despite the advantages of labelled classes that encourages students to work and study competitively, but it damages their social behaviour and joyful moments. However, some argue that it results in more efficient teaching, I believe mixed-ability classrooms offer a more inclusive and well-rounded educational experience.