Some people believe that children should be allowed to make their own decisions, while others think that parents should make decisions for them. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays many parents think children should make their own choices. However, other people believe parents must choose for their children. This essay will talk about both views and also give my opinion.

On the one hand, some parents think children should decide some things by themselves, for example food, clothes or entertainment. The reason is that it helps children become more independent. When children make small decisions they start to understand responsibility. Also they can learn from mistakes. For example, if a child choose a hobby or activity, they may understand what they like and what they don’t like. In addition, children who sometimes choose by their own can feel more confident when they talk with other people. Because of this reason many parents think it is important to give children some freedom.

On the other hand, some parents prefer to choose for their children. They think children are too young and do not have enough experience to make good decisions. For example, parents sometimes decide what subjects children should study at school or what activities they should join. Parents believe that this can help children avoid bad choices. But if parents always decide everything, children may become very dependent. Later in life it can be difficult for them to choose something by themselves.

In my opinion children should have some chance to make their own choices, but parents still should guide them. This can help children develop independence.

In conclusion, parents want the best for their children, but giving children some freedom to choose can help them learn important life skills.