Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Mobile phones are becoming more widely used nowadays, and this trend heightens public interest in whether children should use their phones or not. Although some say that restricting children from using their smartphones is a necessary action, others also think that children should be allowed access to their personal phones in day-to-day life. I believe that any kind of ban or restriction on using phones for children would yield no benefits, and allowing them to use phones might be more suitable.

Granted, one might argue that banning children from using phones in school could be a wise proposal that is helpful to them. This is predicated on the assumption that using phones could make children immersed in playing games and scrolling through social media, which leads to lower scores and even being addicted. According to this theory, consuming time on their phones could even affect their physical and mental health and lead to poor study performance. Without such interaction, perhaps children would not be impacted by smartphones, hence protecting themselves from negative corollaries.

However, this line of reasoning is not sound because the widespread use of the internet exposes people to mobile mores, locations, and ages regardless. This means that if children are restricted from using their phones, they would still interact with computers and TV, which have many similar functions to smartphones, so banning them from using these things would not be effective. In addition, nowadays, children could take advantage of using phones not only at home but also in their schools. Furthermore, using those phones at school could help youngsters keep in touch with their parents in case of emergent circumstances, such as health-related problems. At home, children could use them for self-studying and researching lesson-related resources. Therefore, they would not feel a sense of limitation if they wanted to explore other things by themselves.

In conclusion, I think that prohibiting children from using phones would be an unwise method, and it would also limit children’s rights to do many things on their own.