Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Mobile phones are essential for many adults as they serve as tools for work and communication. As for children, some people argue that phones should not be used in school, while others believe children should be allowed to. While children can use phones to support their learning, these devices can negatively impact the children’s performance.

On the one hand, with similar accessibility, phones are much smaller and lighter than laptops and tablets, making them more convenient to bring to school. A phone offers reliable tools and resources, expanding a child’s knowledge and skills beyond traditional school books and facilities. Google and Wikipedia, both available on phones, are commonly used websites by students for research purposes. Moreover, phones can help children make urgent calls to their teachers and families during emergencies without relying on the school’s phone. In case of fires or natural disasters, many children use their phones to contact support, saving their and others’ lives.

On the other hand, phones are one of the reasons why children have low concentration and poor academic performance. Some children disobey school rules by using their phones for entertainment during class time, putting their attention away from the lectures. For example, many high schoolers and college students secretly bring one to class and watch movies or scroll through social media without being noticed due to the phone’s small size. As a result, many miss out on important knowledge and do poorly on their tests. This also frustrates parents as such results can become obstacles once their children apply for higher education.

In conclusion, even though phones are convenient tools benefiting children’s skills and knowledge, they may perform poorly due to the device’s distraction and should not be allowed to use phones in school.