Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Children using smartphones has raised a debate of whether they should be allowed to use their phones during school time. Some people support the idea while there are others who oppose it. This essay will discuss both sides of the perspectives while also providing my own opinion on the topic.

On the one hand, the proponents of the idea believe that allowing children to use their phones during school days helps them to access more information while learning. For example, by utilizing online search engines, they will be able to obtain additional knowledge that may correspond to the materials given by their teacher simultaneously. Furthermore, access to various entertainment such as listening to music or watching videos while on a break between classes will allow them to relax and be prepared to receive the next lesson during the day.

On the other hand, the opponents forbid phone usage during school days as they might distract children from focusing on their lessons. Having their smart devices on hand also tends to make them rely excessively on the device thus reducing creativity and problem-solving skills. For instance, instead of learning to assess the problem and find a solution, they prefer to take a shortcut and use their phone to find the answer online. Additionally, prolonged exposure to smartphones may induce vision impairment or sleep deprivation, which in turn will reduce their productivity.

In conclusion, while I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits of phone usage during school days, there is a way to mitigate this problem. Parents and schools should implement clear policies that determine when a child is allowed to use their phone. For example, only during break time or specific classes, while prohibiting them during other occasions.