Some people believe that children should be given strict rules to follow, while others think they should be allowed to make their own decisions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people consider that parents should be strict, while others believe that children need to be brought up in freedom to make their own decisions. However, I strongly support the latter idea, as freedom gives a child more opportunities and he/she usually grows without tension and stress. This essay will elaborate on both view points before reaching a clear conclusion.

On the one hand, some individuals uphold the view that parents should be demanding while growing a child. One chief reason is that when a child is grown up under parents ‘supervision, they will receive more attention. For example, parents will teach rules, limit particular activities and provide parental guidance. As a result, the child will have to conform to all the requirements, helping parents to grow up their children in a safe and strict way. However, excessive care to a child may deter them from being independent. Children will feel burnout and pressure on themselves, as they fear of crossing the line of their parent’s. This may eventually result in lack of confidence and chronic pressure on the children. Therefore, parents should not be harsh while raising a child, as excessive care and limits may make children introverted and lead to a low self-esteem.

On the other hand, others support the idea that children should have been brought up in freedom. One primary reason is that it gives them a chance to to engage with his/her own interests autonomously, while extrinsic motivation from their parents inspires them to work on enhancing their skills more. When a child is given a freedom, he/she will become more independent and will not rely on his/her parents while making her own decisions and choices. Therefore, I believe that children should be grown in a positive environment where parents support their children and provide parental guidance in case they need.

In conclusion, although, bringing up children in a strict environment may enable parents to be aware of their children’s choices, providing freedom can have better results such as independence and high self-esteem. Subsequently, I uphold the latter view point, as excessive attention and limits may have negative effects on children’s growth.