Some people believe that children should be taught to be competitive in school, while others think they should be taught to cooperate. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A majority of individuals think that schools should provide students with a competitive environment whereas others prioritize cooperation more. From my perspective, I partly agree with each school of thought so I will express the reasons behind my partial endorsement of these two opinions.

On the one hand, there are some reasons proving the advantages of a competitive educational environment. To begin with, when students compete with each other, it can improve their engagement in classes or school activities. For example, by making students play a game relating to the subject, they not only be offered bonus points for their test but also can effectively revise the previous lesson. In addition, this method also creates an energetic educational environment that inspires understudies to try hard to reach their goals. Therefore, children’s academic success is believed to be dependent on the competition factor.

On the other hand, there are also several drawbacks of being in a too competitive school environment which can be solved by peer cooperation. Firstly, it can lead to peer pressure among students, which can negatively impinge on their school performance. For example, not every child can keep up with their friends’ pace of studying or classroom. As a result, it is crucial for children to collab, to get support from their mates since it can ease their nerves of getting left out. Thus, mixing both teaching methods can form a healthy learning style.

In conclusion, even though there are mixed opinions on determining whether a competitive or cooperative school environment is more suitable for students, I believe that both aspects have their own strengths. While competition can increase classroom engagement, cooperation is able to prevent unbalanced academic performance among children, ultimately benefiting the educational field.