Some people believe that children should be taught to be competitive in school, while others think they should be taught to cooperate. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is being argued that whether children should learn to be cooperative or competitive in school. Both views are worth discussing, and I think each of the perspectives has their own role in students’ lives.

Being competitive in school is highly encouraged because of some reasons. The main one is that parents want their children to do better than others and get higher marks. This trend is really helpful to motivate some children who always get low scores and lost self-confidence. Moreover, it gives motivation and pushes them forward to make better actions among peers in competitive games. However, there are some disadvantageous sides along with benefits. For instance, competitions may cause the possibility of rivalry between friends, and some can get demotivated or dissatisfied with their efforts.

On the other hand, cooperation is also one of the methods used in school among students. This is the way teaching children to support each other and show activeness as a group. Furthermore, they may hide friends’ mistakes and help when teammates face any difficulties. Although, some members of a team often tend to be effortless or lazy showing passive participation in group projects. As a result, they could be a cause for the failure of the team while they may suffer from other children themselves in the long term as they do not get rid of their bad habits.

In conclusion, I believe that teaching competitiveness and co-working is beneficial in many ways such as supporting peers and trying to be better than others, whereas many disadvantages can also be seen.