Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely held that underages should be convicted with the rigour as they are already aware about the responsibility and consequences, awaiting them if they get a foot in the door out of law. However, others believe that the parents of those adolescents, who commit crimes, should be punished instead of children themselves. I firmly believe that the authorities should take into account details and particulars of any case as not only children’s circle of communication exerts a substantial toll on their behaviour, worldview, and mentality in general, but guardians and a home environment too.

First and foremost, juvenile delinquency advents via a manifold of various factors. They may be forced to violate a legislation because of needs, encompassing their financially disadvantaged parents, who may be below the line of poverty. This leads to the commission of crimes by the youth such as fraud, pickpocketing, theft, and suchlike, obliging them to be the main earner, and provide for their family and themselves. For instance, children, which have grown in dysfunctional families are often left for themselves, thereby forcing to find a source of income with offences. In such cases children should not be convicted as severely as their parents, who do not have an adequate awareness and care about family planning and child-rearing.

On the other hand, sometimes teenagers may be differentiated with their brutality and cruelty, even when they have decent living conditions, background, and upbringing, which their parents instil them over time. However, despite this, they may be subjected to other circumstances as peer pressure, mental issues or psychological deviations; hence, family not always may be at fault for actions of their children. It significantly contribute to its children, but one should not escape the fact that a home environment is not the only one aspect, shaping a person as a person. Take for example TV shows, schools and the outdoor world wholly. People cannot avoid the impact of a multitude of sources, there thereby a careless treatment of children from other individuals may substantially alter heir archetype, traits, and outlooks towards society and the realm of justice as a whole, thereby leading to delinquencies.

In conclusion, both opinions have a sense as all cases should be examined with severity of the crimes, which were committed by minors. Therefore, I think that a court should consider circumstances, impacting reasons why one or another child made a decision to commit a crime, to avert a recidivism.