Some people believe that competition at educational institutions is beneficial for students, while others think it creates unnecessary pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, competition at educational institutions is common. Some people argue that this method helps students to do better, while others believe that it is creating unnecessary pressure. Both arguments are valid but it depends on how a student perceives it.

Competition can be a high motivator to some students. A Large number of students want to top their class, so they work hard to outperform each student and themselves. This brings out their true potential which could help them in competitive examinations and to secure jobs which helps them to live a better life.

While competition is beneficial, it also has some disadvantages. Few students who couldn’t study or match with the potential of their peers often get discouraged and downgraded by their teachers and family. This can take a toll on student’s well being. Sucides happening in this era is mainly due to this competitive nature at the educational institutions. A few students with lack of emotional support and low self esteem even lose their interet in studies altogether. Also due to this race, students are focusing more on gaining more score on paper rather than gaining knowledge.

In my opinion, competition is beneficial when it is healthy. It must be implemented in a way that a student focuses on improving himself or herself rather than fighting for ranks against each other. Students must be taught to help each other grow. Also, adding some fun activities and sports to learning is a must so that the student is not under stress.

To conclude, while competition at institutions has its advantages, it needs to be handled carefully. The environment should be set in such a way that it promotes self-learning and self-growth not the constant fear of failure.