Some people believe that consumerism is good for countries, whereas others argue that it has negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a widespread belief that consumerism is beneficial for nations, while others believe that it has resulted negative effects. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss these two point of views then followed by my opinion about this issue as an conclusion.

To begin with, people’s consumption habit are undeniable good for both developed countries and developing countries economies. As we know that there are taxes that include in the products and services that we paid for. These amount of taxes money will be paid by the sellers or service providers to the government. Furthermore, these tax funds will be used for infrastructure development such as build a new public health facilities.

On the other hand, some people also generally believe that consumerism brings negative consequences. They argue that it leads to overspending habit for consumers. People who had this life style tend to purchase products that they do not really need. As a result, in the end of the day some of them find themselves spent more than they can earn monthly. For instance, consumer that have this habit will use their credit card to purchase an expensive product that not really important for their life, like branded items.

In conclusion, I believe that despite of the advantages of consumerism for country’s economic growth, this kind of life style can cause more drawbacks for society. People will tend to spend their money on things that really necessary for them. Later, the items that left unused usually end up as a waste on the landfill.