Some people believe that consumerism is good for countries, whereas others argue that it has negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a widespread belief that consumerism is beneficial for nations, while others believe that it has resulted in negative effects. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss these two points of view, then followed by my opinion about this issue as a conclusion.

To begin with, people’s consumption habits are undeniably good for both developed countries and developing countries’ economies. As we know that there are taxes that are included in the products and services that we pay for. These amounts of tax money will be paid by the sellers or service providers to the government. Furthermore, these tax funds will be used for infrastructure development such as building new public health facilities.

On the other hand, some people also generally believe that consumerism brings negative consequences. They argue that it leads to overspending habits for consumers. People who have this lifestyle tend to purchase products that they do not really need. As a result, in the end of the day, some of them find themselves spending more than they can earn monthly. For instance, consumers that have this habit will use their credit card to purchase an expensive product that is not really important to their lives, like branded items.

In conclusion, I believe that despite the advantages of consumerism for a country’s economic growth, this kind of lifestyle can cause more drawbacks for society. People will tend to spend their money on things that are not really necessary for them. Later, the items that are left unused usually end up as waste in the landfill.