Some people believe that consumerism is good for countries, whereas others argue that it has negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are divided opinions toward consumerism, some argue that consumerism is good for the nation while other do not. Personally speaking, consumerism good for the country until a certain point, more than that especially consumerism behaviour of the people without a decent knowledge of financial literacy can led into social problems.

Every nations rely on economy to keep the nation running that is the reason why consumerism can be good for the country because it develop the country economy and make the nation economy stronger and the government can has more funding to build infrastructures, public facilitations, or programs for their people. If the economy not running because the people hesitate to spend their money it can lead into recession and more problems will come.

Even though consumerism can be beneficial for the country, if the consumerism behaviour of the people not provided enough with financial literacy can leads into more problems, especially social problem. If we see what happen in Indonesia most of the youngster especially Gen Z tends to spend their money to newest smartphones, viral cafés, hidden gem vacation spots, cute viral plushies, and many others without aware of their financial condition. They also don’t have enough patient to wait until their had enough money, everything must be fast and simple. Because of this bad consumerism behaviour many young people nowadays trapped into Illegal online bank that provide easy money with high risk or Illegal online gambling that promised easy money without any difficult effort.

In conclusion, consumerism need to balanced with enough financial literacy of the people. So, the government do not need to be worried about the social problems that will come after.