Some people believe that criminal behavior has genetic causes. Others believe that it is circumstances that lead people to commit a crime. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that criminal behaviour is mainly caused by external factors, while other people think this type of behaviour come from genetics. This essay will discuss both view. Personally, I lean towards the former view, because outside conditions have more strong influence on people actions.

On one hand, many people support the idea that criminal behaviours are genetically influenced for several reasons. Firstly, bad genes may cause violent behaviour. For example, some scientists say that psychopath genes can affect the ability of a person to control their emotions and actions. Because of this, some people may become more aggressive and easier to commit crimes. Secondly, some statistics shows that certain ethnic groups commit more crimes than others. For instance, in the US, black people are sometimes reported to be involved in crimes at higher rate. Therefore, some people believe genetics play an important role in criminal behaviour.

On the other hand, I think criminal behaviours are mainly caused by external factors. One reason is the environment where people grow up in. If someone live in a poor area with unemployment and violence, they may become more likely join criminal activities. Another reason is lack of education and family care. Many young people who dont receive good education or guidance from parents can easily follow bad friends and make wrong choice.

In conclusion, although genetic factors may affect behaviour in some ways, I believe external factors are the main cause of criminal behaviour. Governments should improve education and living condition to help reduce crime in society.