Some people believe that death penalty should be restated for serious crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate in terms of reinstatement of the death penalty for serious crimes. While there are some benefits of execution, I disagree with this policy.

On the one hand, reinstating the death penalty has several benefits. Authorities imposing such a policy so that it can deter potential serious crimes and can give a message to people that society will not tolerate offence. Having been executed, other criminals tend to avoid doing it since there is only one ultimate consequence. After committing serious crimes, the government will not give another chance, preventing further risks of crimes from an offender. As a result, it leads to better safety and fewer offences. Furthermore, execution can give a sense of fairness to victim’s family,especially for murder. Some believe that these crimes only require the death sentence instead of confinement. To illustrate, murderers and terrorists are sentenced execution since no other punishment can give comfort for society and the public at large.

I, however, disagree with the proponents of death penalties. Firstly, there is a risk of wrongful execution. Sometimes, innocent people can be sentenced for false evidence and judicial errors. For instance, some people are accused of crimes since their appearances can be similar. In these cases, one’s life can disrupted because of the faults and no one can return it. Moreover, it isn’t appropriate to take one’s life, even if he is a murderer. Since punishment is formed for changing criminals’ behavior, they get another chance for their faults with imprisonment. However, execution is totally unethical and government provides safety at the expense of killing people. Consequently, it leads to potential protests among the public for such a policy.

In conclusion, while there are some benefits of the death sentences such as a reduced number of further offenses and fair punishment for serious crimes, I believe that it is unethical to execute people and there are a risks of accusing innocent people.