Some people believe that death penalty should be restated for serious crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

With the number of crimes increasing in an alarming rate, the majority of people are concerned about implementing the most practical punishment so as to discourage individuals from committing offences. Some people present the idea to legislate the death penalty for those who are involved in serious criminal activities. I, personally, do not approve this point of view since I believe everyone should be given a second chance to reconsider their behaviour and have an opportunity to change for better.

On the one hand, threatening people by sentencing them to death if they commit crimes with devastating consequences would indeed reduce the number of illegal acts. That is, even though we have specialised laws and types of punishments for each sorts of offences, they seem to be ineffective taking the rise in crime related movements into account. For example, it is not rare to see individuals sitting in jails three or four times throughout their lives, meaning that standard penalties are not as efficient as they should be. Therefore, some opt for the presence of death penalties over usual jail sentences or fines, simply because the majority of criminals feel frightened when they realize that they might lose their lives if acting against law.

On the other hand, punishing individuals strigently in this way right after a single mistake is considered unfavourable, as people learn from trial and error, which would mean that killing is not the solution to enhance the society for better. To be more precise, while sentencing for death can certainly arise fear in individuals, it also comes with some apparent demerits. For instance, the fact that a person acted illegally does not necessarily mean that it is impossible to discipline him or allow him to improve his behaviour. Similarly, there are some cases where authorities or policy bodies can be wrong when identifying real criminals. Consequently, during the investigations, having blamed a guiltless person, they end up depriving innocent people from their lives, making the situation worse. Thus, death is not the desirable way of neither redirecting offenders, nor establishing a fair system.

In conclusion, while the death penalty might be practical to some extent, the negative points it brings make it unfavourable shift overall, thus making others and me doubtful about its effectiveness in disciplining people.