Some people believe that eggs should be eaten alone anytime it is needed whereas, others say that it must be eaten as a component of another meal at all times. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There appears to be no consensus on whether people should eat eggs alone when it is required or whether it should just be a part of a food. This essay will delve into the two sides of the argument and conclude that eggs should, at every point in time, be a component of meals, not consumed in isolation to maximise their health benefits.

On the one hand, the consumption of only eggs is one of the healthiest meals around. Whole eggs are nutritionally rich, supplying almost every nutrient any consumer needs. This is in addition to their having the lowest energy-to-nutrient density ratios of any food and are useful sources of some of the harder-to-get nutrients like vitamins D and B12 as well as the mineral iodine. Whether it is plain boiled, poached, or scrambled, eggs offer these benefits and so much more. While the aforementioned points can hardly be argued, I feel that limiting diets to only eggs would mean depriving the body system of other nutritious diets.

On the other hand, I believe that eating eggs together with other foods and food products rather than alone should not be open to debate. This is because there is no clinical evidence or medical research that validates the consumption of foods made up predominantly of eggs as a balanced nutrition. A balanced diet consists of varieties of fruit, vegetables, whole grains and a moderate amount of unsaturated fats, meat, eggs and dairy can help maintain a steady weight, protect the human system from diseases and ill health and leave less room for foods that are high in fat and sugar. There is no way eating only eggs can provide these numerous health benefits regardless of how nutritious it can be, therefore, eggs must be a component of meals, not be seen as a stand-alone diet.

To conclude, while eggs are undoubtedly nutritious, to argue people should accept an egg-only diet would be indefensible. This would be tantamount to denying the body the enormous health benefits of balanced nutrition which itself contains eggs.