Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop children's life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that taking part in an energetic hobby plays a bigger role in enhancing children’s core skills than time invested in reading. I agree with this viewpoint, as when assessing involvement in hands-on activities and the time dedicated to reading

As for participating in a physical activity, it requires children to communicate with others directly. This provides children with real interactions and opportunities to handle tough situations with their teammates. More specifically, children can freely practice expressing ideas clearly, listening to other people’s opinions, and cooperating toward a common goal. As a result, they can develop more practical communication skills that are immediately relevant in social settings. Additionally, children can join outside activities with their friends, such as team sports especially soccer which requires children have to make decisions immediately on the spot. This teaches them how to cope with disagreements with teammates. A case in point is that children accidentally pass the ball to the opponent and make team fall behind, they will have to think and make quick decisions to help team avoid losing the game.

Regarding the hours devoted to reading, children can learn more about theory of growing trees, which they learn at school or read in books but it is difficult for them to plant trees because planting trees involves many steps and other factors that affect the tree.

In conclusion, I completely agree that participating in a physical activity contributes more to building children’s essential skills than spending time reading, as the superiority of engaging in a outside activities helps children develop more skills such as problem solving skills when faced with difficulties in real life over relying too much on reading books to know everything.