Some people believe that young people should spend a period of time living or working in another country in order to learn language and culture. Others think that this is unnecessary and young people should focus on studying in their own country instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

t is often the topic of discussion that in order for juvenile people to develop maturity and serious life skills, they should live an extended period of their life abroad be it for working, studying, or living. However, some people oppose this idea and firmly believe that one should focus on studying in their own homeland. Both have their own pros and cons.

Firstly, it should be obvious that true independence comes from being able to manage various aspects of one’s life alone. And this opportunity is best provided when one leaves the comfort of the home and goes out into a new territory. A mother’s nest is comfortable but it only makes us weak and this world doesn’t really reward the weaklings. Going abroad provides us with the opportunity to learn the culture and language of other people which can be a really valuable life skill in the long run. The ability to assimilate oneself into a completely different culture can offer numerous benefits such as forging new connections, learning valuable knowledge particular to one culture and so on. Also, learning a new language helps open up various parts of the brain contributing to its overall development.

On the contrary, another portion of people deem it unnecessary to leave one’s country and are adamant that one should focus on studying in their own homeland. They argue that young people should learn the valuable skills here and exercise them here for the development of the country. Once someone moves abroad and begins getting comfortable there, it’s hard to move back to their birthplace. It’s one thing to seek a foreign land when enough opportunities are not available in their country but it’s a totally different thing to move abroad despite having everything in your own homeland. It just goes to prove that you don’t love your country enough.

I am of the opinion that we should go abroad and spend a period of time there because only hardships can truly teach us valuable things in life. I am not saying to go and settle there. My opinion stems from my knowledge of the gurukula system in Hindu religion where young people leave their house to go and stay at their teacher’s for an extended period of time. During that time, they learn essential skills to prepare themselves for an adult life.

In conclusion, it all comes down to people’s own choices. However, if one is to really learn something in life, he/she must leave the hearth of nest and venture out into the dark, cold woods to learn about life.