Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students' performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some individuals believe that there is no need for continuous assessment because the exams are the best way to check students’ knowledge. I agree with that the exams are good choice, because they are fair, and everyone, who prepared for them can pass them; but in my opinion continuous assessment is suitable for some subjects.

There a lot of subjects, which couldn’t evaluate student’ knowledge by exams; that’s why we have continuous assessment. In some subjects, students should have their own thoughts and opinion, these subjects evaluate students’ creativity, communication, adaption and others skills, which we cannot evaluate them by A, B, C choices. For instance, Philosophy, psychology and others. For them, teachers give to students projects like: making a video about the topic, group project and individual speaking.

However, the exams are the fairest way to evaluate student’s knowledge. If the students prepared for exams, they will pass them in good marks, if they didn’t, they will not. From this method of checking, university can avoid that the not active students in projects will rated fairly in the exam. There a lot of students, who have good grades, because they are friend with smart ones. Smart students do their group project or a video alone, and in a result, all in the group will be candidates for good grades. It is what I called “unfair”.

In conclusion, some individuals believe that there is no need for continuous assessment because the exams are the best way to check students’ knowledge. I agree with this statement, because they are fair, and everyone who prepared for them, can pass them; but in my opinion continuous assessment is suitable for some subjects.