Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the types of punishments available for the criminals. While there are other measures to prohibit crime, it is important to choose the best way to tax the wrong doers.

In order to have a safe social environment, inmates have to be parted from public. The reason for such prohibition is to keep the wrong doers away from other people to prevent them from committing repeated crimes and to keep other residents at peace. Many of the individuals whom fall into such wrong activities are due to lack of education, money and resources to make living. Fortunately, the rehabilitation centers around the world have become a place of educating the inmates to live a better life. Also, many of these centers have access to jobs; where in the person who are caught in criminal activities are trained to learn a useful skill. After learning the skill they are employed in the center and get paid for their services. Therefore, the criminals can find themselves into an opportunity to live a better life, while spending the prison sentence.

On the other hand, there are circumstances were despite of taxing the criminals, they tend to become more aggressive in doing crime. The individuals whom are not going to change their characters and keep on breaking the law should e definitely punished as there are no other wys of preventing them from doing repeated crimes. In this instance, longer prison time would be a good option for those people, because the alternative ways are not productive in getting them to behave properly in the society.

In conclusion, there are different ways to punish criminals. There are certain other ways to improve prisoners characters, and if these lenient corrective ways does not change the criminals behavior then more harsh punishment such as longer prison timing is a good option for managing these individuals.