Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation systems to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. Others think that building more roads and highways is the better solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the authority should invest more money in the improvement of commuter services in order to mitigate traffic jams. Whereas, others have a different perspective, which is adding more routes. This essay strongly agrees that investing in shared transportation can lead to an effective solution.

Enhancing public transportation by increasing investment will encourage citizens to use public commuters rather than private vehicles. The rising number of self-owned vehicles on roads is a prime reason for traffic congestion. It becomes arduous for traffic controllers to regulate the vast amount of vehicles. A public bus can carry more passengers than a private vehicle. For instance, a regular car can only accommodate four to five passengers whereas a bus can carry around fifty passengers, thus decreasing the number of privately owned vehicles on roads.

Increasing the number of highways can be considered a viable alternative. But the high cost and lack of area for building new roads make this plan difficult to execute. It is not only an expensive measure but also takes a lot of time and may cause suffering to the public. For example, Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, is a densely populated area. To provide accommodation for its citizens, more buildings were constructed, which resulted in a reduced area to build more routes inside the city. Moreover, the addition of new highways and roads often leads to more traffic jams as the usable roads become narrower, and so this essay does not impel the extension of routes.

While facilitating public transportation is a feasible resolution to traffic congestion, some still feel that plotting new routes would lead to a permanent solution. However, as long as the authority can motivate citizens to use public vehicles as their main medium of transportation, the benefits of spending money to elevate public transportation are clearly positive.