Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation systems to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. Others think that building more roads and highways is the better solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world, the big problem which is faced by people is traffic congestion and pollution. Some people argue that government should spend more money to improve public transport, while others believe that construction of roads and highway can solve the problem. Both perspectives have some merits and deserve consideration. But I believe, investing more money on public transport is more sutable and effective approach.

On the one hand, building more roads and highways can provide a better solution for traffic congestion. Expanding roads and increasing connectivity of highways, allow vehicles to move more freely, reducing delays and connectivity can help urban and local area for goods transportation. Additionally, wider roads and highway can influence more people to take use of private transporation. For example, new roads and highways have low traffic, so use of private transportation on this medium of transport can help in saving in time and cost.

On the other hand, investing in public transportation can solve the root cause of traffic congestion and pollution. Providing a good and well-maintained transportation like train, buses and subway can transport large number of people at once, significantly reduce the numbers of private vehicles on road. This approach not only solve traffic problems but also reduce the greenhouse gas emissions, improving air quality. Moreover, public transports are more affordable for individual as compared to private transports.

In conclusion, while expending roads and construction of highway may offers short-term benefits, it is not sutable solution. In my opinion, government should give more focus on public transport system, which provide permanent solutions like economical, social and environment benefits.