Some people believe that hospitals should spend more money on new medical technology, while others argue that those funds should be allocated to doctors and nurses. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people maintain that hospitals should invest more on new medical technology, whereas others assert that this budget should be spent on doctors and nurses. Personally, I support the latter idea because of a lack of those professions can cause collapse of regional medical services.

Some may argue hospitals should allocate more funds to new medical technology because it can accelerate the speed of medical progress. This is because their active introduction of advanced medical tools can generate substantial revenues of medical industry and governments, which can be invested in medical research and development for the future. In additon, if they introduce advanced medical technology, more patients can be saved. There is a gap of medical treatments between urban areas and less populated settings as hospitals of the former areas have newer medical technology, which can be used to treat diseases that once considered to be impossible to cure.

However, I believe the investment in medical professions should be prioritised over medical infrastructure as an increasing number of doctors and nurses has changed their positions. In order to maximise hospitals’ profit, they generally minimise personel costs by hiring as less medical practitioners as possible and forcing them to work for long hours, cauing considerable mental and physical stress on these professions. For example, in Japan, almost 7% of new doctors and 10% of nurses has switched to another sectors due to severe working conditions. As a result of keeping these circumstances, a significant number of patients die because of a lack of medical professions.

In conclusion, some may argue that the top priority of hospitals’ investment should be on medical infrastructure, I believe more money should be allocated to human resources of doctors and nurses to maintain regional medical treatment.