Some people believe that in the future, governments should spend more money on preventing climate change than on dealing with its consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An increasing number of individuals believe that in the upcoming years, governments should spend a substantial amount of capital on preventing climate change rather than dealing with its consequences.

I completely agree with this statement and the reasons are explained in the following paragraphs.

Nowadays, there are several factors that contribute to climate change including global warming, urbanization, and industrialization. Governments should control these activities, as they play a crucial role in adversely affecting our climate. Moreover, investing in electric vehicles can significantly reduce the emission of harmful gases into our environment. In addition, developing rural areas can reduce the migration of people to urban regions. As a result, deforestation will reduce which in turn will protect animal habitats. For instance, Indian government has initiated numerous projects to decrease urbanization, thereby protecting trees and forests.

On the other hand, if the authorities refrain from spending money on eliminating the risks related to climate change, then it can be a very dangerous situation for upcoming human and animal generations. This is because experts say if we are unable to protect our enivronment, then we might experience very harsh climate changes including frequent storms, floods, earthquakes and extremely harsh summers and winters. Other severe consequences of climate change include reduction in marine species, as industrial waste being thrown into rivers and seas pollute the water.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that governments must spend a significant proportion of their capital to prevent climate change before having to deal with its consequences. Measures such as promoting electric vehicles, investing in rural areas and planting more trees can contribute to prevent frequent climate changes.