Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that the planet is undergoing a plethora of climatic and environmental changes, which will probably affect to its sustainability. As a consequence, this has generated a general worry about humans not being able to live on the Earth, and that our only option will be to search for a different planet. Personally, I strongly disagree with this notion as I believe that any viable planet will be out of our reach.

First and foremost, all planets are mean to die out at some point, not necessarily for human’s actions, but because of their natural course of life. On the contrary of what many believe, I hold the opinion that the Earth will not be significantly impacted by humans; although we might play a role in the development of the ecosystems and climate change, these actions will be minimal, and the planet will still undergo its own natural changes. Furthermore, it is highly likely that when the Earth faces its end, the human race will be long gone.

Additionaly, the likehood of finding a suitable plannet for us to live, with the appropriate atmospheric conditions, natural water, and life sustainable resources, are near cero. So far, all the planets from the solar system are unviable to support life, and if there were any other planets similar to ours, it would be located in another galaxy, completely out of our reach. Although some proponents argue that humanity will find the technology to travel through space, I share a different view, as the most modern advances have only allowed people to travel as closer as the moon. Moreover, the time that it takes to do interstellar trips is increadibly large, and for us to travel to a different galaxy would take more than 100 years, which will surely lead to human extinction.

In conclusion, there are not many chances of people surviving the decline of the Earth, because of our technology not evolving fast enough and due to biological reasons. As a result, our specie will likely die out before the planet dissapears.