Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals think that multinational sporting competitions are ideal chance to expose the qualities of the hosting country. While opponents argue that events like that will be unnecessary financial problem for that nation, but I firmly believe it will be good opportunity to show off themselves to the world.

To begin with, international occasions are the great opportunity to advertise a country. During competitions like World cup or Olympic games host can develop their global image through showing touristic attractive places, advertising local products and illustrating national culture. Moreover, it is also available to do profits for economy. During the tournament, wide range of domestic services can be offered like hotels, restaurants or selling local items, souvenirs and crafts to tourists and guests.

On the other side, there are also disadvantages for hosting country. The budget spent on such a mega sport event will be unjustifiable, bringing country in a huge debt and suffer or even economy of its country can face to crisis. For example, in 2004 Greece has hosts to Olympic games and spent budget was high around 11 billion dollars which was 5 percets of their GDP.

To sum up, hosting to big multinational sporting tournaments are helpful for countries global image, but financial sides of that event also should be thinked.