Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While international sporting events may bring prestige and popularity to the host country, it usually results in them falling into catastrophic debt. From hosting hundreds of athletes around the world to building first class facilities, a lot of unnecessary expenses are blown off during both the preparation and duration of the event. In this essay, I will be talking about the unjustifiable expenditure of funds for these events.

Firstly, the main source of expenditure comes from the building of large, world-class facilities. At the moment, the facility might have been deemed necessary for hosting athletes all around the globe. But these huge centers are usually collecting dust not long after the competitions, while the citizens of the country are left footing a million-dollar bill. There is no use for multiple olympic-sized pools, all within close proximity to each other. The facilities are not limited to just sports: take the Olympics, for example. The infamous olympic villages built every four years are usually the ultimatum of comfort, for exactly three weeks. They are then left largely vacant, just like most of the facilities built for this purpose. Overall, it is illogical for the citizens of a country to be bearing a bill for facilities that they don’t even use.

Secondly, the natural source of income is usually deterred during the preparation of hosting such an event. Tourism comes to a standstill and all existing funds are pushed towards ensuring a ‘grand success.’ All the physical labor needed demands pay and activities such as mining and export are minimized. While there is no flow of cash into the host country, a lot of money is being spent on the event. This creates an imbalance in the country’s economy, which often results in debt.

Preparing and organizing international sporting events exerts a heavy toll on the GDP of a country. Instead, organizing individual championships or choosing a constant host city may reduc