Some people believe that investing in highspeed railways between cities is a necessity. Others think that money should be spent on improving existing public transport systems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many developed and developing countries, a substantial amount of money is spent on public transport systems, as they often require a number of implements, such as stations, bridge, tunnels and so on. Some individual consider that it is necessity to invest in high-speed train systems linking cities, others believe that funds should be allocated to enhance the current public transportation systems. Although the first point of view is beneficial in some cases, this essay will argue that governments should spend on improving existing public transport systems.

Naturally, public transport systems in form of development are considered more crucial for nations, creating inexhaustible facilities for transportation that are not available from other sources.They also prove to be highly advantageous for states across all sectors. Since governments in need of transportation for their people are trying to pursue happiness through developing existing public transport systems, it becomes necessary to spend large sums of money on increasing roads,buses and so on. If this is adopted by the government, and even individuals, many citizens can potentially benefit. Enhancing public transport systems in Singapore and Switzerland,for example, has become a pivotal model for transportation, providing better services for individuals.

On the other hand, there are several issues with the idea of allocating to high-speed railways that make us consider alternatives.In some circumstances, government avoid investing in high-speed railways due to facing various challenges, such as financial difficulties, poor environmental quality, land acquisition issues, and technological difficulties. Although the concept of investing in high-speed railways is valued by many large cities around the world, many more poor and developing countries have to experience an empty pocket and negative effects on their citizens’ if they choose to accept this strategy. Therefore, the idea of investing in high-speed railways is not always an attractive one. From economic, social, and national perspectives, if government’s objectives require that investing in high-speed railways is not a choice but a necessity, they can opt to take it up.

However, it is a responsibility of people to evaluate the idea of improving existing public transport systems and decide whether it will do more harm than good. It seems clear, therefore, that it is a good idea for government to take an interest in improving existing public transport systems.