Some people believe that it is beneficial for scientists around the world to collaborate, while others think this could lead to certain drawbacks. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether or not scientists should collaborate globally is a highly debated topic regarding the recent status quo. While acknowledging the high possibility of moral decline through collaboration, I still reckon that nothing is more significant than unity in addressing today’s urgent issues.

On the one hand, solitary work reduces conflicts between individuals, especially given the complex nature of science. Scientists who work alone are not hindered by ideological conflicts. As a result, this can accelerate the research process and help scientists maintain a “flow” state when they are in deep focus, ensuring a solid outcome. Additionally, cooperation can be risky, since stereotypical bias may lead to poor work distribution. Prejudiced task allocation negatively impacts efficiency, discouraging scientists from maximizing their intellectual potential and further fostering a sense of discrimination, ultimately impeding scientific progress.

On the other hand, I believe that worldwide partnership among specialists is key to solving current conundrums. Factually, scientific research must be conducted from diverse perspectives. Hence, advancement and efficiency can be achieved by constructive discussions and even heated debates – something that working individually cannot provide. Moreover, scientists’ responsibility is also enhanced. Specifically, global networking is a collaboration of scientists across the world, which is why it can be easily influenced by a single individual. Accordingly, they are under pressure to have their work done both punctually and carefully so as not to affect the overall task progress. Eventually, the scientific approach benefits from precise methodologies thanks to the professional duty of each person.

In conclusion, while some think that certain disadvantages can be found when scientists work collectively, I still advocate this way rather than independent performance, as not only is the final outcome included multi-viewpoint analyses, but it is also well executed owing to individuals’ responsibilities.