Some people believe that learning foreign languages should only be for practical purposes, such as traveling or working abroad. Others argue that learning languages has deeper cultural and intellectual benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A great number of people believe that learning foreign languages is only beneficial for working abroad or traveling. Meanwhile, others argue that language learning offers a deeper understanding of other culture’s values. In my point of view, bilingualism is primarily about other nation’s values and nuances.

On the one hand, learning foreign languages is indeed beneficial for working abroad and traveling. Bilingual individuals have more career prospect in the international workforce as they are in higher demand and valued by employers. Furthermore, knowing two or more langauges can reduce the risk of getting lost, scammed or potential misunderstandings. For instance, foreign language learners can navigate through cities easier and communicate with local citizens without a language barrier.

On the other hand, advantages of knowing different languages extend beyond practical use. A new language provides a range of opportunities, such as undersatnding the culture’s traditions, nuances in jokes that lose meanings in translation. For example, many foreign films and books contan nuanced humor and double meanings which is understandable only for language learners and native speakers. In addition, there are studies proving that learning languages improve cognitive abilities and play a significant role in multitasking and problem-solving. From my perspective, these intellectual and cultural are more beneificial than surface-level advantages such as employment and traveling.

In conclusion, language learning not only provides career growth and travel convenience, but also gives us a wide range of knowledge and understanding other nation’s values . Therefore, I strongly believe that the advanatge of bilingualism lies beneath the surface.