Some people believe that modern society encourages people to become too competitive rather than cooperative. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for many individuals to think that modern society motivates people to become more competitive rather than cooperative. While there are various reasons for this trend associated with both ranking systems in education and job markets, I firmly believe that being cooperative has positive aspects, but a competitive environment helps people to develop their cognitive skills.

There are compelling reasons to believe that competitions among students or colleagues can provide a chance to improve cognitive abilities, as competitive environments push people to work harder, think more critically, and solve problems faster. For example, students who compete with peers tend to study more effectively and show better academic performance. Similarly, in the fierce competition in the international job markets, a significant proportion of low-skilled workers struggle to learn new technologies or perform at a high level to show themselves. One crucial factor to consider is that when individuals have an ambition to be superior to others, they are able to enhance their intellectual skills and growth personally.

While it is true that a competitive environment pushes people to show their hidden abilities, it is equally important to consider that cooperation with others can build strong communication skills and social bonds with colleagues, which plays an essential role in different situations. However, over-dependence on team members makes people more complacent, and they start to rely on others. Such evidence confirms that persons who rely on their team may face difficulties to succeed in their future careers and daily lives.

Taking everything into account, working in cooperation can build strong communication skills and social bonds, I strongly believe that a competitive environment pushes people to think critically and develop their discipline to show themselves.