Some people think that the Olympics is no longer important in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that nowadays Olympic Games are not important. This essay totally disagrees with that statement. I believe that Olympic Games are a symbolic tournament that gives an opportunity for young athlets to showcase their skills, while whole nations are getting another chance to unite and cheer for their sportsmans.

Firstly, Olympic Games were hosted for almost a hundred years, and this major event revealed a lot of talents throughout its existance. Most of the times youngsters are not able to get a chance to play in their adult team due to lack of experience on major tournaments. However, Olympic Games gave a chance to many individuals that showed their true talent on the field. A great example of it is a football player Messi. In his early years he was considered a prodigy, but still doubted to be called to the national football team. Consequently, he got a chance to show his ability on Olympic Games. He played, adapted, and won all matches that he played with Argentinian team. In the end, he won the olympic medal.

Secondly, there are not many events, when whole nations can bring majority of people to TVs, but Olympic Games are one of them. This event grabs the attention of billions all over the world, making citizens of a country a united power under one flag, filling with hope for their national team to win. A good example of it is specifically Americans. Besides being the most diverged country in terms of culture and origin of its people, they are one of the most active fans, regardless of their athlets win, or lose.

In conclusion, Olympic Games are still relevant nowadays, they bring people all around the globe together to watch their representatives, whilst athlets recieve a chance to demonstrate their skill.