SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT NOWADAYS WE HAVE TOO MANY CHOICES. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT ?

Some argue that nowadays individuals have excessive options in their lives. I partly agree with this idea as the statement is too general without considering conditions and restraints.

I believe, compared to the past, people now are entitled with more choices than before due to the advent of massive production and modern advertisment. In the past, because of the underdeveloped method of producing products, not enough items were in the market for customers to choose. However, with the development of modern manufacturing techniques and business modes, more products and items have become accessible as well as known for the public. Moreover, more and more jobs have been created and more majors are needed to satisify the demand of the society and labour market. For example, students graduating from high school now can choose majors such as e-commerce and live streaming, which were invented in the past.

However, I argue that choices come with conditions and restraints as there are not free options. When one choice is presented in front of one person, numerous factors should be considered: money needed, ability, pressure from the family and social rules. For those why are from deprived families, they can choose to buy different items that are homogeneous, which means they cannot opt for the goods out of their range. Meanwhile, young graduates seem to have plenty of career options, but they are being selected at the same time. This means that it is the cooperates that actually make the final decisions. Additionally, when choosing a career, they tend to pursue positions that guarantee a higher income instead of applying for jobs they truly dream about out of pressure from family and society. Therefore, there are not much left for them to choose.

In conclusion, although options seem to be increased because of the growing market and demand, we need to think about a lot before actually making a choice. Therefore, we do not have too many feasible choices.