Some people believe that online education is more effective than traditional classroom learning. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the effectiveness of online education is equal to that of conventional learning in classes. This essay disagrees with this point of view, as online learning limits face-to-face interaction, causes distractions among students and offers limited efficiency despite some special features.

One major reason why studying online is not as efficient as the traditional method is the lack of direct interaction. As students are only capable of learning lessons and exchanging information through online platforms, having conversations in person with peers and teachers is nearly impossible. For instance, when students are assigned to do group projects, they are restricted to certain means of communication such as texting apps or online meetings in order to discuss main points. As a consequence, if students face any formidable changes during the learning process, especially those related to emotions, it is difficult for teachers and friends to recognise such issues and offer support in time, which in turn affects academic performance negatively in the long run.

Another point worth mentioning is that students are easily distracted by their surroundings when studying online. That is to say, online learning is usually conducted through screens without sufficient supervision from teachers. Therefore, if students are not self-aware of academic responsibilities, they will be influenced significantly by the surrounding factors rather than fully concentrate on studying. This can be exemplified by numerous cases when students quit online classes to play games without any notice from their tutors. Such cases have detrimental impacts on students’ knowledge and attitudes, worsening their performances at school.

Granted, some may argue that students can take advantage of many special features offered by online education. Specifically, they are able to use some tools and apps such as Google docs to assist their study as well as online platforms like Zoom to contact their friends. However, these functions have limited values in terms of mutual understanding and collaborations, while the traditional teaching method enhances such values remarkably through different programs and competitions. Therefore, sentimental values held by traditional education are much more significant despite convenient tools and resources provided by online education.

In conclusion, while online learning fosters access to various online features, the traditional teaching method is still a better option due to its real-life interactions, high levels of concentration and cooperation among students.