Some people believe that parents should regularly check their children's cell phones and computers to ensure their safety. Others argue this is an invasion of privacy and harms the parent-child relationship.

Society has continue to to develop faster and faster. Technology is everywhere, it’s so convienient to do stuffs and get answers or cash on the internet. And of course it will come with risks. Some people believe that parents should regularly check their children’s cell phone or computers to ensure their safety while others argue that it is an invasion of privacy to do that and would cause harm to the parent-child relationship. I don’t fully agree with any of them, both has a point that seems to be correct.

The harms that the internet can cause for childrens are endless, from cyberbullying to even kidnapping, murders, human trafficking and more. So it’s best to check the child’s phone to ensure that they’re safe, right? I honestly think that is awfully invasive for children, only teens though. Because as a young little child, you would need to be protected from those things because you don’t have the ability to know what’s wrong, what’s right and how to protect yourself yet. Being monitered should be an easy way to keep you from dangers of society. But going along with that, parents also have to start teaching kinds stuffs like how do they call for help if in a emergancy for example. What is grooming and how do you know you’re being groomed or exploit by an adult? I think starting to teach them the basics of protection is the best at a young age. Since even toddlers now have their own iPad at such a young age, it’s best if you get a child monitering app on their tablet.

Would it count as invasive? A bit, yes but they need that. It’s essensial and you know it. Just take a look at how Roblox, a popular gaming platform full of pedophiles and predetors just looking for their next target. Not monitering and checking your child’s phone would be a big deal. As they could end up cutting themselves or following more ridiculous orders of adults. Children are easy to fool and manipulate, your child could always be a victim of it and it’s important to raise awareness for them before it’s too late.

On the other hand, once they’re old enough to protect themselves from simple stuffs, I still think it would be right to check their devices. Just not call them out for stuffs that is normal for a child with their friends. As long as it doesn’t cause harm to them. Checking a child’s phone may make them think you don’t trust them but I’m sure you can talk it out. Just do it in front of them and point out some stuffs, but not critisize the,for it. You still need to teach them things cause that’s your responsibility.

At last, i want to declare this essay. I completely agree that you should check your child’s phone, just not regularly much, maybe occasionally. Try opening up to them, so they could share their thoughts with you. And pleasae do respect your child’s privacy and that should work out. It won’t ruin your parent-child relationship that much.