Some people believe that people living in the twenty-first century have a better standard of living as compared to previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is argued that people live their best lives in the twenty-first century compared to before. Personally, I strongly agree with this opinion for the following two reasons.

Firstly, living in the current century allows people to access to the most advanced medical treatments. That is to say that modern medicines and treatments can cure more deadly diseases that used to be deemed as incurable. Because of this, ordinary folks are less vulnerable to illnesses that can potentially put their lives in peril. Also, contemporary healthcare in most developed countries enables people to go through physical examinations on a regular basis, which significantly improve people’s health conditions. Statistics shows that the average life-expectancy is 12 to 15 years longer as compared to the past few centuries, and such increase in life expectancy can be largely attributed to the advancement in health services.

Other than that, people enjoy higher wages and more holidays ever before in the twenty-first century. This means that people can save up more money after their basic expenditures in food, clothing and commuting. As a result, it increases their purchasing power to buy more goods and take vacations to travel abroad more frequently. In comparison, most working-class people living in the 19th century were subject to long working hours up to twelve hours per day, seven day per week while earning minimum wages that could barely provide their basic mean of sustenance. In this case, people living in twenty-first century are certainly in an advantaged position as far as their economic welfare is concerned.

To conclude, twenty-first century is considered the best century to live in because people live healthier, wealthier compared to any previous era in human history.