Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe that they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a common belief that professionals like doctors and engineers should not be free to work in a different country than the one they did their training at. There is an opposing view that they should be required to work in the same country they studied in. From where I stand, restricting these professionals to one country and taking away their right to practice anywhere else is quite wrong.

There are numerous reasons why professionals don’t owe anything to the country they trained in and therefore should not be required by the law to practice there. Firstly, a considerable number of engineering, medicine and other STEM majors pay high tuition fees to the universities, especially world-renown institutions such as Harvard and Cambridge. Secondly, even if these pupils study at public universities or benefit from scholarships, they make up for the funds and opportunities offered to them by adding up to the university’s success with their achievements. Indeed, all the studies published by the students can be claimed by the academy where they’re studying at and gives that institution a better reputation.

However, we simply can’t ignore the fact that the country where these professionals trained at can also expect them to work there and contribute to the local economy. By and large, public universities are funded by governments in order to train future workers who can become useful members of society. Additionally, certain jobs like general practitioner, require the professional to be well versed in the language and culture of the people they work with, which are patients in this example. Consequently, moving to a new country would also be hard on the trained professional themselves. With all that being said, these reasons are not sufficient enough to require doctors and engineers to work in the country they studied at.

In conclusion, there’s conflicting views on whether trained professionals such as doctors and engineers should be free to work in any country they want or only practice in the country that they trained in. As far as I’m concerned, they shouldn’t be forced to practice in the country they studied at and should have the freedom to choose for themselves.